107.1 The Bull linkKFIZ News AM 1450 on Facebook
Listen Live to KFIZ.1 FM
KFIZ Closings and Cancellations in the Fond du Lac, WI area.  Sponsored by Airtech Heating and Cooling
KFIZ South Valley Weather Updates
KFIZ social network facebook and Twitter feeds

Wisconsin Farm Report with Pam Jahnke   Wisconsin Eye - Watch Who We Are
Advertise with KFIZ.1 FM
  Jerry Schneider Band Polka Show 9:00 AM - Noon Saturdays on KFIZ

Wittchow Named Distinguished UW FDL Alumni


The University of Wisconsin-Fond du Lac has selected Scott Wittchow, retired managing editor of Action Publications, to receive its 2013 Distinguished Alumni Award.


Wittchow was with Action Publications for 22 years before retiring in 2011. An active community volunteer, he received both the Cheers for Volunteers Outstanding Business Volunteer award and was the recipient of the first Leadership Fond du Lac Alumni Award in 2003.


Born and raised on a farm near Rosendale, Wittchow attended UW-Fond du Lac from 1969 through 1971 and played basketball under Coach Dick Knar. He then transferred to UW-Oshkosh where he earned a bachelor’s degree in journalism.


Locally, he serves on the Fond du Lac Area Foundation Board and is a member of Fond du Lac Noon Kiwanis. He has previously served as a member of Big Brothers Big Sisters Board, American Red Cross Fond du Lac Chapter, Leadership Fond du Lac Board, Wisconsin-Upper Michigan District of Kiwanis International Board, Peace Lutheran Church of Rosendale Church Council and the Citizens Advisory Council to International Paper. He served on the UW-Fond du Lac Foundation Board of Directors until last year.


In 2000, Wittchow became a bone marrow donor to Nicola Coates, a young woman from Great Britain who was fighting a third round of cancer. His donation extended her life another 10 years before the cancer returned and took her life three years ago.


He will be honored at the UW-Fond du Lac Foundation’s annual donor and scholarship reception on Oct. 2 in the University Center Commons.


This is the tenth year the university has presented this award. Past recipients include Brenna Garrison-Bruden (2004); Don Noe (2005); Paul Rosenfeldt (2006); Robert (Bob) Carew (2007); Oscar Kraus (2008); Sandi Roehrig (2009); Mark Stand (2010); Kim Mooney (2011) and William (Bill) Lamb (2012).


For more information about UW-Fond du Lac call (920) 929-1100.

Comments 0

Please remember a few rules before posting comments:

  • If you don't want people to see your email address, simply type in the URL of your favorite website or leave the field empty.
  • Try to be civil to your fellow readers.
  • Stay on topic. We want to hear your opinions and thoughts, but please only comment about the specified topic in article.

Post a Comment
Required *

- +


Captcha Image
KFIZ Phone: 920-921-1071
All content © 2012 Mountain Dog Media, USA
Web Design and Development by Wyld_Desyns LLC - "Take Your Business to the Next Level!